We are all human!

Most know that I tend to not dwell on the negative and try to find the positive in everything. I got a cortisone shot on Thursday and was really hoping by today all would be a lot better. Yet I woke up to realize that my left leg is still much weaker than the right and my lower back still hurts pretty bad. I have to say I am extrememly frustrated with this injury and these setbacks remind me how much running really means to me…EVERYTHING! So I was pretty bummed out today and just kinda existed on earth.By Monday if not better I go back next week for another cortisone injection.

I am really excited about announcing the “Ultimate Stamina Eco-Style Boot Camp” which will begin in May. For more information check out the web site at http://www.ultimatestamina.com/Page_4.html – This boot camp is going to be like no other and will be totally life changing.

I also want to thank all the amazing Dr’s that are helping me get through this back injury. You guys are soooo appreciated and I could not do this without you. Thanks.

As far as nutrition goes. I am making some pretty radical changes to my diet in order to cut any inflammation I can. I am severally cutting grains and all processed foods (yes, that means all Cliff and granola bars) with the exception of sprouted whole grains, oats, and brown rice. Also plan to greatly increase my intake of berries and veggies (especially leafy greens, sweet potato, broccoli) and Omega 3’s (flaxseed). Food is fuel and nothing else so I plan to do whatever I can to give my body the best fuel I can. I also plan to utilize home-made smoothies to get adaquate nutrition. Stay tuned for yummy smoothie recipes. My tried and true is still pretty basic:

1 c. 100% no sugar added juice of choice OR 1 c. lowfat organic kefir

1 c. frozen blueberries

1 banana

1 sc. protein

tsp. flaxseed

Blend, pour in to-go glass and drink on the go.

So I hope that my back gets a lot better this week and I can resume training. Drake is 5 weeks away and Green Bay is 8 weeks away. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

