Salad of the week…

Today decided I was kinda in a Mexican food kind of mood (well, always in the mood for Mexican food) So in an attempt to make it a bit healthier I put my thinking cap on. Note: it has occurred to me that during times of not training hard (like now) I tend to not eat so healthy. Bad choice. When training hard, running, etc..I eat far healthier.

Black Bean, Tomato, Corn Salad….    So today’s recipe included

1 15oz.. can of organic black beans

1 15 oz. can of diced tomato with onions

1 15oz. can corn

1 jalapeno pepper diced

3-4 tbsp lime juice

3-4 tbsp olive oil

tsp. minced garlic

tbsp dried cilantro.. fresh would be better but I did not have any

1 diced red bell pepper

Stir everything together. It makes a lot so it will be great to eat with crackers, tortilla chips, on a bed of spinach or for tonight it will be a topping on blue corn tortilla chips with melted cheese and salsa (NACHOS!) Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

