Food, Rest, and Repair

It has kinda been an odd weekend for me. Usually weekends are full of long workouts, social activities, and some good red wine. Well, this weekend has been without a few of those. I once again learned that Mother Nature is in charge and can not be defeated. Last week I started feeling a bit tired, weak, crabby, and run down. Decided to just try to change my attitude, think positive, and carry on. Let’s just say last weekend and the week leading up to it was a bit stressful. Then this week I pushed pretty hard, took on more training clients, had several big rehab workouts, and again just carried on. By Thurs, I was pretty much getting by on fumes. Thurs night met with my Dr. and was told “YOU ARE OVER-TRAINED”. So what does that mean, click here to find out, over-training syndrome … My instructions were rest, eat a lot of calories, stretch and relax, and for the next week concentrate on only 1 major workout each day and not 2-3. So this weekend has included.. no workouts, a few naps, eating an entire gluten free pizza (over 2 meals), ice cream, lots of peanut butter “I am addicted”, stretching, using The Stick, and watching cartoons. I am pretty stoked to concentrate this week on the core workouts to help me back to running. And do less of the other stuff.

Also actually had time to go through clothes (a little shopping was included from the comforts of the couch, of course), stored all the winter clothes and coats away (better not see snow again till Dec.), created a new playlist with some (Linkin Park, Prodigy, 3 Doors Down, Kings of Leon, and more), and made up a batch of my baked oatmeal (substituting pumpkin for applesauce, yes I was too lazy to go to the store :-)) and now watching some great soccer on ESPN2 🙂

Some recommendations:

Trader Joe’s soy cherry ice cream with chocolate chunks…Especially a large bowl, 1 sliced banana, and melted peanut butter on top 🙂

Trader Joe’s Vegetable Fried Rice (vegan too) .. I usually add some Bragg’s liquid amino dressing and sometimes add additional veggies

My baked oatmeal… (3 c. oats, 2 eggs, 1/2 c. pumpkin, 2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1 c milk, and fruit of choice) That’s it!

AND soccer on TV from the comforts of the couch. 🙂

AND Roxy now makes some workout apparel… SWEET. I have some stuff coming. Nike, Lululemon, Roxy, Pearl Izumi, and Under Armour .. apparel of choice :-). One can NEVER have enough shoes or training apparel RIGHT? 😉

OK… well back to doing some training plans. Cool performance enhancement stuff in the future for runners and equestrians, training camps, and more.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

