Lazy days of summer

Well, it’s 12:15 and I sit here on a Sunday AM drinking my 4 shot Starbucks Americano and watching cartoons. Eyes nodding off and legs propped up on the couch, computer on lap. Definitely the lazy days of summer. Yesterday was a big day of training; 18 mile run in brutal humidity and many lessons learned

1. Waiting until 10.5 miles to consume Gu or any liquid was maybe not a great idea.

2. Wearing nike running shorts that were a bit to big caused some serious chafing considering I was drenched by mile 6 due to humidity

3. When you start feeling a blister, take care of it BEFORE you see blood soaking into your sock and shoes

4. GU more often will keep your mind and brain working a bit better. I sure can become cranky when the glycogen becomes depleted.

Absolutely amazing I can coach my athletes with such success and sometimes think that my body is invincible. No worries,  I am sending my body back to the school of invincibility soon. All in all (despite a bloody foot, dehydration, and muscle cramps) it was still a decent run of 18 miles in 2:27. I did consumed 80 oz. of Gatorade during the day yesterday, and was still thirsty.For sure will need to practice nutritional intake on next few long runs. Practice makes perfect!

Spent most of yesterday working on the redesigned new Ultimate Stamina web site, a true work in progress, but really fun to create. I am also creating a really awesome 12 week challenge … It is going to include everything needed for ultimate fitness, performance, nutrition, motivation, and wellness. It WILL be the coolest thing available to clients yet! I am so passionate about this I can hardly stand it. Watch for coming details this week as I finalize everything :-))

I am also offering great deals on in-home personal training, no equipment needed, and in the comfort and convenience of your home. Check out here for more information.

Today’s baking included Baked Oatmeal for breakfast:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In large bowl mix 3 c. oats, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 2 tsp baking powder. In smaller bowl combine 1 c. milk, 2 eggs, 1/2 c applesauce, 1 tsp vanilla. Pour went ingredients into dry ingredients, mix and then add 1-2 c. fruit of choice (I like raspberries and blueberries). Fold in fruit and pour in brownie pan that is lightly sprayed with PAM butter spray. Baked 30 minutes, let cool, cut into squares, top with PB if desired and EAT.  YUM

Thinking it might be mahi mahi tacos for dinner.

Possibly a nap this afternoon and working on more of Ultimate Stamina’s upcoming events and opportunities. I am very grateful that I have a job that I am so passionate about. I am also considering taking on another huge opportunity that will no doubt challenge and expand my experience.

I also am looking forward to Fall racing … a 5K for Make a Wish Foundation this weekend (one of the coolest causes out there), the North Face Endurance Challenge Half Marathon Sept 19, Quad Cities Marathon Sept 26 (a training run), Des Moines Marathon Oct. 17, a few 5K’s, and then Tecumseh Trail Marathon Dec 4. Just in case I was worried about being bored, it’s not an issue.

Hope everyone has a great week and is enjoying a lazy Sunday!

Cristin

One thought on “Lazy days of summer

Leave a Reply

