A life changing day

Life isn’t happening to you; life is responding to you. It is your call. Every area of your life and every part of your day is really up to you. You are the creator of your life. You are the writer of your life story. We can be given obstacles but it is how we view them that ultimately affects our success. You are he director of your life movie.You decide what your life will be- by what you give to life.

This all dawned on me today. as some of you know I have been faced with a few obstacles… a couple times a week (including today) I have to go get IV fluids and iron for a pancreas condition. Not a huge deal, not life threatening, but certainly not fun. The nurses love to chat with me and frequently they say “you poor kid, you have gone through so much.” Today that really hit a nerve. What I have gone through is nothing compared to so many others. Where I go to get these injections and treatment is the oncology department. I witness those battling cancer, many to sick to walk without help. A lot of the time they strike up a conversation with me and we chat. Not about disease, not about medicine, but about what life has to offer. Some ask my story, why am I there, and what do I do. I just simply say, well, I help people. I help people to become healthier by incorporating fitness in there lives, I help people deal with set-backs and help people overcome obstacles. The nurses just smile… knowing that I have a long run the next day or a race. I rarely talk about that to these amazing people. Really what I have overcome is nothing compared to what these and others face. Some of these amazing people will battle to the end and then will head up heaven to a wonderful life without any pain. Others will battle and beat the demons affecting them and live on to inspire those around them.

But life is really how you feel and how you react to what you are dealt. Sure I am human, I despise needles and hate have iron and fluids pumped into me each week, I wish I could eat normal foods and meals without taking digestive enzymes, wish I had never broken my back BUT I really have been blessed with the ability to help inspire others and the strength from God to help me through some pretty tough times. So when the nurse said to me, “you poor kid”. I thought no I am pretty blessed.

You can take any situation in your life, and every possible outcome can occur. Any outcome can happen based on the feelings you have about the situation. So next time you are faced with a tough situation, think about the outcome you want to occur and most likely that will drive your actions to accomplishing your goal.

“It’s not what happens to you, but how you react to it that matters.” – unknown

Make each day GREAT!

Leave a Reply

