Grateful

Pretty much a great day. Started the day off with nothing better than a 17 mile run on trails. It was chilly (perfect running weather, about 50 degrees). Ran the first 7 miles with arm sleeves, t-shirt, gloves, and shorts. For the remainder shed the arm sleeves and gloves and was perfectly dressed for the temps. The trails were hilly but the cooler temps had me running faster than I wanted to. A great confidence booster! Legs were a bit tired and back a bit sore but body held up throughout and only took 1 GU during the entire run. (That was not planned, I thought I had some in my car but no such luck). Oh well, ended up being ok.

While running on the trails and hopping over a few branches, I was reminded how much I love the pure art of running. Those times when it feels completely effortless. I had a few moments of that today and there is NOTHING better. I am getting really excited about the next 3 months. Quad Cities, Des Moines, and Tucumseh. However, the next 3 months are going to both mentally and physically challenging. A lot going on in life and so grateful that I have my passion and gift of running to explore as I move forward.

After the run a trip to Starbucks for my post long run treat.

Then headed home, stopped for ice (yep, ice bath), and it was homeward bound to the bath tube.

1. Fill bath tube with COLD water

2. Make an Americano (espresso and hot water) to drink when you are freezing in the ice bath

3. Get into bath tube making sure you have enough water to cover legs completely

4. Pour whole bag of ice in.

5. FREEZE for 14 minutes … Fun times

Had a huge bowls of chips and guacamole and salsa. Whomever invented sea salt with lime tortilla chips and avocados… YOU are a genius. Possibly my favorite meal.

Took a much needed nap. I knew I needed one when I almost had a break-down cause the apartment was cluttered. I tend to get crabby when over-tired. Napped, woke up, ate the most enormous bowl of cocoa krispies and toast with pumpkin butter and went looking for these. (found next to the foam roller) 🙂

CEP Compression Recovery calf sleeves. Similar to the famous pink socks. These are lifesavers. Keeps legs feeling fresh after tough training days. I use these both after workouts and sometimes during workouts when I know the calves and Achilles will be stressed.. hills, speed-work, long runs.  The biggest laughs are when I wear them in public and people say “cool, what are those and where can I get them”. Like they are some fashion statement. YIKES, certainly hope not! I will say they DO WORK!

I am also becoming (well, sort of) a meat-eater. WOW, that sounds weird. I have started eating chicken, have increased eating fish and am open to turkey. I am VERY picky on where and what kind of meat I will eat but I know that in order to achieve the goals I have, I am going to have to make some sacrifices. I have also had to cut out gluten, dairy, and PB. I can have the 2nd two in super small quantities but the more they cut out the more I have to eat what is left. With the increased training (60 mile weeks and 4-5 hours of core/strength) I am definitely craving and needing protein. Coming soon is a recipe for Chocolate Endurox ice cream.

So this week I will continue the recovering between workouts (compression sleeves, foam roller, stretching, e-stim, icing, sleep, and good nutrition) Oh, and training!!! Another 60+ mile week.

It was just a little over 7 months ago I had a long spine surgery with a good amount of metal put into my spine. Would never have thought I would be where I am today, looking at upcoming marathons, having run a couple 20 mile runs, raced a bit, and increasing strength. I send HUGE thanks to my entire medical and coaching team especially Dr. Randall Porter at Barrow Neurological Institute in AZ and Mike and Froedtert Sports Medicine Institute .

I am so grateful to be able to share running and fitness with others but more important to me, I am so grateful that I can inspire and motivate others to overcome what is placed in front of them with perseverance and courage.

You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have.

Happy Labor Day!

Cristin

Leave a Reply

