New Favorites and Thanksgiving Fun

What a great time of the year. Thanksgiving just past, Christmas coming soon and then a Happy New Year. Fun times. I am so grateful for my faith, friends, family, health, and ALL the lessons I have learned and been taught throughout the years. AND, you NEVER stop learning.

My new liquid from the Gods is… coconut water. I can’t even explain how good I feel after drinking this stuff. Coconut water is the purest liquid second only to water itself. Check out the benefits here –  coconut water benefits … I use coconut water before workouts, after workouts, and at times I am feeling dehydrated. I will also add about 4 oz. of coconut water to a smoothie if I am feeling run down. I love O.N.E. coconut water brand and my favorites are the pink guava and mango. The fruit flavor comes only from fruit.

Another new favorite is Carrot Ginger soup from Trader Joe’s. I am a HUGE soup fan (eat it year round) and especially love it on cold days (currently it is 22 degrees out). :-0  Soups are a super healthy way to get a lot of nutrients into 1 single meal. Frequently I use my magic bullet.. in the bullet goes from organic vegetable broth, fresh raw broccoli, carrots, celery, garlic, onion, red peppers, and other mixed herbs and seasonings. Blend and enjoy. Add a few organic baked tortilla chips or rice crackers and you have a warming nutrient filled meal.

Another frequent favorite when it comes to food. Homemade sweet potato fries. Peel a sweet potato, cut in fries or chips, douse with olive oil, spread in pan or on cookie sheet, season with garlic salt/paprika/chili pepper and bake at 350 until done. Easy enough and something I eat at least 3 x week.

 

 

Lately I have been cross-training on the bike quite a bit. Daily. Today was a great workout that I would recommend to even “uninjured runners”.. Warm-up 10-20 minutes, 40-60 minutes of 2:00 hard effort, 3:00 easier effort NOT EASY but moderate…don’t let your heart rate drop under 70-75%. Then 10-20 min cool-down. Makes a long workout seem not so boring and long. This could also be done on the elliptical and/ or in the pool water-running. Hoping to move to the elliptical soon 😉

Finally want to say I am one grateful girl to have gotten to spend Thanksgiving with my amazing extended family. Rick, Sheila, family and of course the “little” creatures. I had a fantastic day, ate way to much AMAZING food. Sheila is an awesome chef! Turkey, mashed potato, sweet potatoes, green beans, corn, cranberries, and homemade pie “minus the crust because of gluten” was eaten and enjoyed. Then football watching with Rick and Piper. Life is good and faith, family, and friends make it that way!

Meet Clara Bell (the puppy) and Piper (big sister). Piper is being extremely patient as Clara frequently chews, paws, climbs, and tries to tackle Piper. Piper continues to take it like a champ and she is now appreciating quiet time, when puppy is sleeping.

Clara’s ears are taped (doesn’t hurt them a bit) and I called her the little reindeer all evening. She is just perfect in every way. And I know Piper will tell her everything about when Cristin comes to babysit and how they can get away with anything, just because they are cute. Shhh… don’t tell their parents.

 

 

 

 

Ok… well off to hair cut, errands, and then the remainder of the day is devoted to training, writing training plans, and some serious organizing.. I know there is a desk under all these piles. Going to search to find it later today.

Keep up all the great work my friends and athletes. Each minute of training is like putting money in the bank. It WILL pay off someday. Promise. Have a fabulous weekend!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

