Why My Single Speed Rules

Sarcasm (a little) is good for all of us. Yes, I am a bit sarcastic today. Laying in bed this AM looking at some cycling magazines a friend brought over I got to thinking (I know…a bad idea 😉

As I was paging through Velo News I was looking at the jacked up super cool road bikes, most coming in under 14 lbs and over $6 grand.And then it dawned on me that I actually enjoy riding my single speed Felt Curbside far more than I ever did riding anyone of my road bikes (and I had the opportunity to ride some pretty epic carbon bikes)

So why do I have more fun.

1. It’s a great workout (now all you true triathletes and roadies, take a deep breath). I am not training for Ironman or the next Crit race. So, I am using it as a mode of training transportation and a way to enjoy the outdoors.

2. So many ask me, “What do you do when you get to a hill?” (single speeds, you got it… they only have 1 speed). I say peddle harder, work harder, try harder. Why that makes them roll their eyes I have no idea. Wasn’t aware that working harder was such a ridiculous idea. —- Oh, and DON’T stand up and peddle up the hill, unless you are climbing a mountain in high altitude, well… you just look funny.

3. It’s less complicated. Why do I love running? Cause it’s simple. Single speeds are simple. Less mechanical worries and no worries about shifting (haha, cause you can’t!!!!) Remember, you have 1 gear, so make the best of it.

That’s all. Oh, and my single speed is super cool in my opinion too (and my opinion is all that matters to me). Next I am looking for some orange rims for the wheels.

Have a great day.. go ride your bikes but stick with your expensive road bikes. I’ll stay with my single speed, it’s character building.

____

Hope everyone is enjoying the awesome weather and have fun on your workouts and BE CAREFUL!

2 thoughts on “Why My Single Speed Rules

Leave a Reply

