Make time, find time, prioritize your time. Don’t make excuses!

It is on rare occasion that I vent my frustrations. But I am frustrated so get ready to hear some truths that might be a bit harsh.

I was standing in line at Starbucks and overhead this… a friend speaking to another friend:

Women #1 : Ugh, I know I need to lose weight but it’s just to tiring and time consuming. I hate working out, I get sweaty, and it takes so much time

Women #2: I know! Just cause I don’t work, my husband thinks I should have the time to exercise. Does he not realize I need a life, Starbucks time with friends, and time to do some retail therapy.

Women #1: Yeah those people that workout everyday… I don’t understand them. People don’t realize that working out is hard and takes commitment, it’s not easy.

Ok. Not to stereo-type but both these women were in designer clothing, carrying designer bags, and had a fair amount of weight to lose not for appearance sakes but overall health. I was not only frustrated with what I heard but beyond irritated and annoyed.

Give me a freaking break. When did finding 30 minutes during your day to go for a walk, run, bike ride, swim, yoga class, spin class, work with a personal trainer, etc become to hard to manage. I can guarantee that this type of person spends at least 30 minutes in front of the TV, probably watching “Real Housewives of New York” or reading up on the latest fad explaining how to lose weight without exercising.

No, none of us are protected from illness, injury, and chronic disease unless we take care of ourselves. Do you have family and friends you care about? If so, you owe it to yourself and those you care about, to take care of yourself. This does not mean spending $5 on a sugar filled coffee drinks, cocktails every evening, heavy expensive dinners, extravagant shopping excursions, smoking in place of eating, and NOT exercising.

And excuses? Seriously? There are NO excuses. I know individuals that have walked countless laps around the hospital hooked up to IV’s while undergoing chemotherapy. I know others that have suffered such traumatic accidents, they were told they might live but have gone on to accomplish marathons and ironman triathlons. I was hit by a car cycling by an inattentive driver, broke my back, ribs, ankle, and suffered a concussion. I was paralyzed below my waist for hours. Today I have had 3 spine surgeries and have 22 screws, 4 rods, and 2 plates in my spine. I have also run countless marathons and have qualified for the Boston Marathon recently. I don’t make excuses.

Some days are easier than others. I will be first to admit that some days staying in bed under warm covers seems more appealing that going out and running in the cold. BUT, countless medical professionals have told me that it has been my determination in athletics and positive attitude that has allowed for my continued ability to be active, feel good, run, and race. In NO way was I ever going to use my adversities as an excuse. I go to a number of charity events and continue to witness kids fighting leukemia and other chronic disease partaking in sporting events. I have watched athletes through the Challenged Athletes Foundation .    These athletes run, swim, bike, ski, all while being challenged with missing limbs and suffering adversities most can’t even imagine.

 

So seriously, don’t make excuses. Move your body. We were intended to move. Moderate exercise can not only improve your health but it can also brighten your day, give you a positive outlook on yourself and your surroundings, and maybe you then can inspire someone else.

Without my passion for running and living a healthy lifestyle, there is no way I would have overcome what I have. It is the simple act of placing one foot in front of the other while out experiencing Mother Nature that helps me accomplish anything I put my mind to. Whether writing chapters of my book or running a marathon.

Do yourself a favor. Find those 30 minutes and take care of yourself. You must look out for yourself and spending 30+ minutes a day experiencing the endorphins released within you is 30 minutes spent no better way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

