33 years and counting !!!!

Wow, I really can’t believe how many birthday calls, emails, texts, and messages I have gotten today. I am so grateful for all my amazing friendships. Thanks to all of you!

This AM started with the sounds of the alarm. Must admit I hit snooze a few times (hello, it IS my birthday). Then up, coffee, cliff bar, and before I knew it… I was on my way to CUW to start my workout. 90 minutes later I was done!

Most of my workout was in the swim-ex … running against a current and maintaining proper running form and posture. It’s a pretty good workout and with quicker turnover, it is possible to get your heart-rate up there. Plus it’s non-impact and is allowing the foot to heal while still providing training stimulus as I continue to prepare for Boston Marathon and Ice Age.

All in all a great workout and I am starting to solve the puzzle of my mechanics and shoe choice (I think) …..

Then to Starbucks for my free birthday drink (benefits of being a Starbucks frequent flyer)! Extra hot soy latte (extra-hot cause it takes me the better part of 2 hours to drink one). I savor each sip 🙂

Full day of work at Performance Running Outfitters! Super excited for all the upcoming events! Find them listed on the meet-up group I started Milwaukee Natural Running Group (free to join the group) and we will be adding classes, training programs, social fun runs, and more on a continue basis!!!!

Why called Milwaukee Natural Running Group? Cause yes I am part of the natural running movement. No, I am not out running barefoot but I do believe in the benefits of allowing the foot to act as it should (using the mid foot to act as a spring and not jamming the heel into the ground). So I try to educate runner’s on the benefits of making small changes in their mechanics. By making these same changes I have been able to get back to running and I continue to explore the more minimal and natural running shoe choices on the market.

Tomorrow I will be testing out the Brooks Pure Flow’s on the AlterG.

I have also been making some changes to my nutrition. I am trying to drink a protein shake most afternoons and am “trying” to really cut back on sugar.

A few staples in my diet…

– Cream of rice hot cereal with PB and almond milk

-Sweet potatoes

-Lots of fruits and vegetables.. I like them all but favorites are kale, bell peppers, carrots, celery, mushrooms, broccoli, apples, grapefruit, bananas, clementines, and berries.

-Rice with beans, diced tomatoes, and fruit salsa

-Rice crackers with hummus

-English muffin EVOO and soup

-Clif and Lara bars (vegan)

Treats: Soy Ice Cream, Swedish Fish and Starbursts, chips with guacamole, anything PB and chocolate, and soy mochas from Starbucks.

So onto focused training, saving money, and working on my new business endeavors (writing a book, creating additions to Ultimate Stamina, and starting a non-profit organization raising $ for neurological research and treatment).

Never a dull second, just the way I like it!!!! 🙂 Happy Valentines Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

