Trader Joe’s

Some know that I love Trader Joe’s. It started when I lived in AZ and there was a TJ’s right next to my running store I owned. I was a frequent, ok… daily shopper. To this day, it is my grocery store of choice. It is where I find my best fuel health and performance. It is where I turn to fill my kitchen with plant based food! So here are some of my favorites.

Powerberries Trail Mix – almonds, cashews, dried cranberries and chocolate covered power berries. To bad the bag claims more than 3 servings cause I can easily consume a whole bag in 48 hours. Addicting. The perfect combo of sweet, salty, and chocolate. Perfect fuel. Great by the handful, tossed into some soy yogurt, or thrown into a bag with gluten free pretzels and gluten free chef mix to make an even larger trail mix combo. I really just can’t get enough of this and limit myself to one bag per week.

Carrot Ginger Soup. There is no soup that even comes close to topping my carrot ginger goodness. I frequently eat this for lunch with rice crackers (see below). It not only fills and satisfies my hunger but it warms me up on chilly winter days. This soup is great with crackers, some gluten free toast, or a handful of raw veggies chopped up and tossed into the mix. Full of nutrients and never lets me down.

 And so that leaves the Rice Crisps. Crunchy, light, exploding with flavor. Perfect to dip in hummus, eat along with soup (Carrot Ginger anyone), dip into tapenade, or have along with a salad. These rice crisps are a staple in my diet and without gluten I am grateful they are abundant and cheap.

So yes, there are a few of my TJ’s staples. Many more to come, even I make my next dollar. Until then… you will just have to wait.

Tonight for dinner I will be a Chef, Master, Cuisine Artist, or just a hungry distance runner… It’s naked burrito night. Lime rice, black beans, diced tomatoes, cilantro, fruit salsa, and grilled bell peppers and onions. I’ll be home by 9, eating my 9:30… Not bad considering I left at 6:15 this AM. Just another 14+ hour day. Living the dream 😉 So what else is new…. ???

Leave a Reply

