T-Minus 6 Weeks Till Boston and Home-made Granola

Wow, I can’t believe I will be in Boston in less than 6 weeks. Time has flown by and training has been somewhat of a blur. So much has happened in the last several months I can barely keep my head straight but all is moving towards positive and with a minor speed-bump (my foot issue)..it looks to be an exciting upcoming several months. The training programs at Performance Running Outfitters are starting soon, I just recently moved to historic downtown Cedarburg and I am excited to be right downtown when Farmer’s Markets and Festivals begin. I am super duper crazy excited to see my friend Bev in Boston and stay with her over marathon weekend. I am somewhat nervous but excited to run my first 50K at Ice Age on May 12th. I am crazy excited for the 2 block move of Performance Running into our brand new store location sometime close to June (we hope).

I am working (somewhat diligently) on my book…a work in progress. I am also working on putting together some nutritious recipes and an anti-inflammatory response to nutrition and dietary choices…another major work in progress!

Here is home-made gluten free granola prior to adding dried cherries

Cristin’s Granola

3 c. gluten free oats

1-2 c. crushed almond/ cashew mix

1/4 c. pure maple syrup

1/4 c. butter or Earth Balance

1/4 c. brown sugar

Splash of Apple Juice

Mix all wet ingredients together and add to oats and nuts

Bake at 275 for 45-55 minutes.. watch so it doesn’t burn

Add 1-2 c. dried fruit and store in air tight container.

So I’m looking forward to finding (or making) time to do more cooking and baking, reading (new goal is 2 books a month); and of course running, writing, working eat PRO, training at Froedtert Performance Enhancement, coaching some great athletes, being super grateful I get to spend time with such wonderful friends. While things have been really difficult I feel I have been blessed in many ways.

Boston, hope you are ready for me 😉 !!!!! A dream come true!

 

 

Leave a Reply

