Boston and Beyond

Wow, I end today with so many mixed emotions. First I have questions.. how is it that a brilliant 42 yr. old equestrian passes in her sleep. Amy Tyron RIP. Then hours later I read that George Morris, the “Father” of hunt seat equitation and horsemanship is being treated for cancer. I have had the opportunity to be coached from George Morris and I know he is not only brilliant but a competitor .. with prayers, great Dr.’s, and his determination; George will overcome this adversity and I will continue to pray for his health, strength, and courage through this tough time. All this shows is life is to short and we must live in such a way to glorify our Higher Powers.

Now…. to the somewhat very surreal emotions. BOSTON BOSTON BOSTON!!!

Am I really starting to pack to go to the Boston Marathon? Do I really fly out at 7:35 tomorrow AM? Is this dream really becoming a reality? It was not even a year ago I had little function of my left leg, I was facing my 3rd spine surgery, and was facing the fact I might never run again. I was terrified, I felt betrayed by my own body, and I was angry. That was less than 1 year ago. Since then, MAJOR spine surgery, HOURS or rehab and training, miles of running (some more fun than others), days of defeat, days of personal bests and amazing highs, nights crying myself to sleep, and mornings filled with smiles after accomplishing workouts beyond my imagination. I have simply the greatest team supporting me, friends that have stood by me through thick and thin, and my strong Faith that keeps me centered on what really is important in life.

I’m so excited to see my amazing friend Bev, Coach Brett, and many others. I am so excited to feel the energy race day will bring, and just take in the experience. Regardless of the time that it takes, I am blessed and I will NOT forget that at any point before, during, or after the race.

I dedicate this race to those that are my “Angels” now. Grandpa, Jeff, Sally…. all looking down from above yet all have given me so much strength and courage. And should those winds pick up, I know Jeff is right there beside me whispering, “the wind is your friend”… so true, Jeff , you are there right beside me.

 

And Grandpa, you always told me to do what makes me happy. I live each day following your advice and knowing that you too are providing me the courage to continue to follow my dreams.

To end this blog I want to post something that was written out to comfort those at Jeff’s funeral, a day we cried yet celebrated his amazing self.

Attitude to me is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than success, than what other people think, say, or do. It is more important than appearance, gift, or skill. It will make or break a company…a church… a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day…I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you…we are in charge of our attitudes – Charles Swindoll

May you all follow your hearts and dreams with a positive attitude, courage, and determination!

 

Leave a Reply

