Updates Abound

Well it’s long over do for an update on the blog. Life has been busy.

I had a wonderful trip to WI the last week of June to see my best friend Chrissy and her family. It was relaxing and so fun to hang out, go to the pool, play tennis, and just chill with friends.

IMG_5870

 

Then back to AZ and the triple digit temps plus training. Training has been going really well and is progressing. I am currently just working on building up a base with miles and a lot of strength & core work supplemented with some additional mileage on the AlterG anti-gravity treadmill and cycling. All in all I am feeling really good, a bit tired at times, sore at others, but it is all part of the process.

 

 

 

 

Brooks Ghost 6

(photo of Brooks Ghost 6)… found at Sole Sports Running

I am so incredibly grateful to be back out training no matter what my body gives me, and I am taking it week by week. I do have some races on the schedule. A few 5K’s in Sept, a 10K and Half in Oct, a Half in Nov., and plan to run Tucson Marathon on Dec 8th. Very excited!!! I plan to head to Flagstaff a few times between now and then to get in some runs up in cooler temps until we start to see the temps drop down here in the valley.

I also am working hard on organizing some fundraising campaigns for my book. Yes, most know I am writing a book. A book about courage, perseverance, determination, and overcoming adversity. This is not just about running but about what it takes when you are faced with steep mountains most think are impassable. It is a book about coming back to life physically, spiritually, and emotionally. I am so grateful and excited for what the future has in store and I am really excited to share my journey with all of you!

IMG_6045

In my spare time “haha” when not (working at Sole Sports, training, writing, coaching, and working on some other new entrepreneurial endeavors with my non-profit) I have a new goal for myself. Read more!!!!! New goal, “take the time to read two to three pleasure books a month” … I even went and got a library card. (Thanks Jen!). I don’t think I had been in a library since college, and that was 14 years ago. CRAZY!!!!

 

Well, that is all for now. Hope everyone is having a FANTASTIC SUMMER!!! Live each day to the fullest and take NOTHING for granted. 😉

Cristin

 

 

Leave a Reply

