Stop eating crap!

Over the last year I have pretty drastically changed my nutrition. In the last 3 months especially I have cut a lot of sugar out and have taken a hard look at what I put into my body. Is is because of my training goals? Is it because of overall health benefits? Yes and yes. What we eat affects everything we do. Whether it is our everyday health, performance, how we feel, etc.

What I eat is simple. I eat fruits, vegetables, nuts (in natural forms), natural unprocessed nut butters (no hydrogenated oils), beans, tofu, wild fish (in small quantities), and gluten free grains such as quinoa, brown rice, corn tortillas, some amounts of chocolate.

Am I perfect? Absolutely NOT.  However I stay away from dairy, I try to limit fish to only the highest quality fish sources that I can obtain the highest nutrients from. I try to eat organic fruits and vegetables as often as I can. I am an athlete. What I put into my body comes out in the training I do. I want to give myself the best chance to perform at the highest level. Most race car drivers don’t put sub par fuel in their cars before a race so why would we put sub par fuel in our bodies.

Being an athlete is a full time job when talking nutrition. It is an ongoing process of constant good fueling day in and day out. Yes, there is always time for a treat every once in awhile, but then it’s time to get back to the grindstone. Because you can only blame yourself for poor nutrition and bad fueling. It’s not rocket science, it’s not difficult, and there is no excuse.

So what to eat … here’s what I do:

IMG_4831

Bkft ideas:

1. Smoothie: 1 c. unsweetened almond milk, 1 c. berries, 1 frozen banana, ground flax seeds, 1 sc. hemp/pea protein, handful spinach or kale OR an Isagenix shake

2. Sweet potato w/ earth balance and cinnamon

3. Oatmeal or quinoa with blueberries, walnuts, almond milk, agave or maple syrup and cinnamon

4. Gluten free waffles with natural peanut butter and honey, cinnamon or w/ maple syrup and berries

Lunch/Dinner

1. Arugula/Kale salad w/ beans, avocado, raw vegetables and homemade hummus dressing, pumpkin seeds

2. Brown rice or quinoa w/ black beans, diced tomatoes, salsa, lettuce, avocado, a few corn tortilla chips

3. Raw vegetables and hummus and fresh fruit

4. Vegetable or Bean soup and gluten free toast w/ hummus or dipped in olive oil or sweet potato fries

5. Smoothie (see above)

6. Baked tofu on gluten free bread with avocado or hummus and vegetables

7. Sushi

8. Grilled salmon or grilled halibut for special occasion… best quality available.

Obviously… eating healthy can be simple and easy. Not very complicated right. So stop eating crap and put good fuel into your body. Eat as many fruits and vegetables as possible.

As far as snacks between meals… I eat raw fruits and vegetables or whip up fresh raw smoothies. 🙂 Occasionally along with a great cup of quality french press coffee or a shot of espresso.

One thought on “Stop eating crap!

  1. I am a runner and nutrition has never been more important! I realized this when I got more serious about running and I have never been happier with the way I feel!

Leave a Reply

