Great news and back on the bike

Just a short blog tonight. Had a great appt. with Dr. Theodore, my surgeon, this AM. He was thrilled with my progress. Gave me the ok to start back in the AlterG anti-gravity treadmill and eventually work back to running outside. Also allowed back on the bike and in due time back in the pool. But first have to gain back the shoulder and arm strength and range of motion.

I will say that the incision site is still really painful and the neck and shoulder are really sore, but just post surgical soreness. Plus, they had to take out 3 muscles and so as a result my neck and shoulder are learning to compensate. Hello rehab and PT.

After riding my bike at Sole Swim Solutions and doing some PT exercises today I was exhausted. It felt great to be back at it and it was successful but I came hope to sleep for several hours and now at 7:40 find myself with little motivation to go make dinner. So definately still not my normal energetic self quite yet but to put it into perspective it was just 2 weeks ago I was in the hospital on a morphine pump, not talking much, and less than 24 hours removed from major neuro surgery. So in 2 weeks, we have come a long way.

Looking forward to the next 2 weeks and beyond. Thanks to my family, friends, doctors, and each and everyone of you that have been by my side motivating me, it means so much. This journey and comeback will be tough but I feel very very blessed.

Leave a Reply

